Classical Music and Opera

BBC Philharmonic

Fri 7th Jun 2019 7.30pm
BBC Philharmonic

Ravel Mother Goose (complete ballet)

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No.1

Dvořák Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’


Rory Macdonald conductor | Ye-Eun Choi violin

With the help of Sleeping Beauty, Prince Charming, Beauty and the Beast and Tom Thumb amongst others, Ravel leads us into a fairy-tale sound-world in one of his most exquisite creations. Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto, composed against the turbulent backdrop of the Russian Revolution, vividly captures a world in flux – it’s a roller-coaster ride for both listener and soloist, tonight featuring the brilliant violinist Ye-Eun Choi. After the premiere in New York of Dvořák’s richly melodic ‘New World’ Symphony, the audience simply went wild and soon Dvořák collars, ties and walking sticks were all the rage!


Pre-Concert Talk:  Simon Webb, General Manager at BBC Philharmonic, discusses the evening’s programme with Ye-Eun Choi.  The talk will commence on the raked seating at 6.30pm.  Tickets cost £3 and include a complimentary drink.




The venue reserves the right to charge an administration fee for tickets purchased via the  box office.


Age Guidance: U16s must be accompanied by an adult

On sale date: Friday 6th July 2018 at 10am


Friday 7th June
Start: 7.30pm
Pay On
* Subject to availability


Concert Hall - Standard

Ticket Prices

  • Single Concert Ticketfrom £18
  • Single Concert Concession Ticketfrom £16
  • Student Ticketfrom £3
  • Part Season - 3 Concertsfrom £48
  • Part Season - 4 Concertsfrom £61
  • Full Subscription - 5 Concertsfrom £72
  • A transaction fee will be charged per booking for single concert purchases.

What are booking fees?