Classical Music and Opera

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Fri 16th Nov 2018 7.30pm
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Debussy Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune (arr. Farrington)

Françaix Wind Quintet No.1
Ravel Introduction and Allegro
SaintSaëns Fantaisie for violin and harp
Debussy La Mer (arr. Farrington)

Kyra Humphreys director/violin

This concert of French music begins with Debussy’s ground-breaking orchestral prelude, based on a poem by Mallarmé in which a faun sees two beautiful nymphs and savours the exquisite memory whilst drifting in and out of sleep, and Françaix’s virtuosic Wind Quintet, a work that achieved a success beyond the composer’s wildest dreams. Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro illustrates the full expressive range of the harp, almost like a miniature concerto. The concert draws to a close with SaintSaëns’s seductive Fantaisie for violin and harp and Debussy’s picturesque and atmospheric seascape, La Mer.


Pre-Concert Talk:  Two members of Royal Northern Sinfonia will discuss the evening’s programme.  The talk will commence on the raked seating at 6.30pm.  Tickets cost £3 and include a complimentary drink.



The venue reserves the right to charge an administration fee for tickets purchased via the  box office.


Age Guidance: U16s must be accompanied by an adult

On sale date: Friday 6th July 2018 at 10am


Friday 16th November
Start: 7.30pm
Pay On
* Subject to availability


Concert Hall - Standard

Ticket Prices

  • Single Concert Ticketfrom £18
  • Single Concert Concession Ticketfrom £16
  • Student Ticketfrom £3
  • Part Season - 3 Concertsfrom £48
  • Part Season - 4 Concertsfrom £61
  • Full Subscription - 5 Concertsfrom £72
  • A transaction fee will be charged per booking for single concert purchases.

What are booking fees?